Instagram is one of those platforms, like Twitter, that I’ve always considered the content I post to be visible to the masses. Yes, I know both have a “private” option for accounts, but I’ve always thought the value in both was in interacting with people outside your circle.

And then I started using Instagram Stories. While I have no problem with strangers commenting on and looking at my carefully selected Instagram pics, my Stories tend to be a bit more personal. This week Instagram rolled out a new feature so that you can keep those personal, while still keeping your account (and the stories you choose) public.

Called Close Friends, the feature allows you to choose whether an image is shared with the masses or just people on your close friends list when you add it to a story. No one will know whether they’ve made the cut to your “close friends” list or not, so you can select whomever you’d like to be included.

To use it, you first (obviously)have to create a close friends list.

Do that by tapping your profile icon within the Instagram app and then tapping the hamburger icon at the top-right corner of the page. From there, select “Close Friends List” from the drop-down menu. You can manually add people by clicking the “add” button beside their name, you can also tap “Suggestions” to make things a little easier (Instagram will surface people you interact with often on the platform).

[Read More]

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here